The Awkward Moment When Thirty Camels Are Running Towards You


Recently, it has been brought to my notice that I have a tendency to respond to some things like an absolute airhead. You know, like the kind that if a flower pot breaks on my head, I’ll probably say something like, “Ooh! Lookie here! Flowers are growing on my head!”
Okay no. I’m exaggerating. Honest.
But that’s not what this post is about. I mean, really, I’m not gonna dedicate an entire blog post to my occasional dumbness.
This post is about something really weird that once happened to me. Why? ‘Cause I have nothing new to post about.

After tenth grade, one of my friends, Raghav, shifted to Rajasthan, India. Rajasthan is a desert, not the kind with nothing but sand till the horizon though. It’s like a proper town. But since it’s a desert area, camels, peacocks, monkeys etc are very common there. So before he went, I made him promise to send me a camel from there. As a joke, obviously. He too agreed to it. Months went by and whenever he called me up from Rajasthan, I always complained about the fact that I had still not recieved my camel, and he would always say that he has already sent one, it’s just taking time because its coming here on foot, and walking so many hundred miles would obviously take time.

After a few more months, he came back to Kolkata. We had planned to meet the next day, after he had arrived. So, the next day, while my friend Aaheli and I were on our way to the mall where we had agreed to meet, believe it or not, we saw thirty odd camels running down the road, towards the direction of my house. It was just far too amazing a coincident. We were flabbergasted. And by the time I recovered from the shock and amazement and decided to take a picture, most of them had passed us by and all I got was a picture of the butts of two camels.

image

Do you see it? Do you see the number of camels in front of these two? Do you? No? Okay.

When we reached the mall and met Raghav and told him about the camels, he exclaimed, looking all smug, that he had sent them for me and I should thank him. And some crap about how if we looked hard enough, we’d be able to see the stamp on one of the camels’ butt which he had put so that I could recognize my camel.
But.
Till date, I do not know where the camels went, but they were most definitely not waiting for me at my house!
Weird or what? I mean, thirty odd camels! Imagine that!

One thought on “The Awkward Moment When Thirty Camels Are Running Towards You

Leave a Reply

